Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook

The pianist Carles Santos dies, national Music Prize in 2008

The musician, 77 years old, had several Max of performing arts

- 40 reads.

The pianist Carles Santos dies, national Music Prize in 2008

The pianist, composer and multidisciplinary artist Carles Santos, awarded in 2008 with National Music Award, has died today at 77 years of age, as confirmed by town hall of Vinaròs, his hometown.

Brilliant and unclassifiable artist who traveled through varied musical and scenic paths, surprising and even shocking, Santos was awarded throughout his prolific career with distinctions such as Cross of Sant Jordi Generalitat de Catalunya 1999, Gold Medal of Circle of Fine Arts 2007, several prizes MAX of performing Arts and medal of Universitat de València.

"He has been an impressive artist, a universal Valencian and a person committed to his land", has written in his Twitter account president of Generalitat Valenciana, Ximo Puig, "Thank you for your eyes," he added.

Learn More
  • The TNC departs to search for Joan Brossa
  • Contemporary classicism falls to basement of jazz
  • Carles Santos, only before piano in latest version of himself

Santos ' career has been a struggle against that prevailing conservatism in world of classical concerts. Trained at Conservatorio del Liceo in Barcelona, he began his career as a conventional interpreter, but meeting in 1961 with Joan Brossa, who commissioned music for an irregular Concert, in homage to 75 º anniversary of Joan Miró, opened interdisciplinary path That he would never cease to travel.

In 1968, a grant from March Foundation, he traveled to new York, where he met far of performance, John Cage. Back in Spain, he directed Grup instrumental Català, founded by composer Mestres Quadreny and began collaborating with filmmakers of school of Barcelona of Seventies: Pere Bella, Gonzalo Herralde, Jordi Cadena, Carlos Durán. Tàpies, Guinovart or Miró are among plastic artists he has also worked with.

It has been in ater where it has achieved more spectators. Arganchulla, Arganculla Gallac (1985), Grenya of Pasqual Picanya (1991), The Imperial Panr (1996) or L'adéu of Lucrècia Borja (1991), along with operas such as Asdrúbila (1992) or Ricard I Elena (2000)-A tribute to his parents-have allowed him to unite transgression Musical with plastic, achieving a compact work, with great breath and extraordinary freshness.


You have to login for comment. If you are not a member? Register now.

Login Sign Up